chalice26's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Frankenstein in a MySpace World

I just realized today that we live in a world full of Frankensteins. It's totally okay with everyone that we are manufacturing our own body parts every day and creating a new breed of not quite human beings.
I started thinking about organ transplants and I decided that I don't believe that we should be doing that kind of medicine. And how there are 89 yr. old women complaining that they can't get their perscriptions and that they take like 13 different ones every day and the cost is in the hundreds per month and I'm wondering why.
Maybe there is something after all to the theory of survival of the fittest. How many people in their 80's are not taking any medications? Probably none. Or very few.
How many overweight people in their 20's are taking medications for diabetes, high blood pressure, etc.? Most, I'd say. Why?
My mom's Dr. actually told her not to get a colonoscopy, because if she "got something" they could "deal with it." Is that our new philosophy on health? Do whatever you want and let the pills, perscriptions, and transplants take care of the rest?
Am I going to just go ahead and smoke until I get lung cancer and then hope that some "miracle" dr. can fix me? That's pretty stupid.
I just wonder how we all got the idea that it's okay to weigh 300 lbs., because then we can get a gastric bypass and be all skinny again. No harm done. Oh, and that extra skin is no problem...snip snip.
I saw a girl on Ellen today and she reminded me of a young Shania. And I was thinking, "Okay, you just need to go get your nose done, and your teeth fixed, get a boob job and tone your arms and you'll be all set!" It's like we can't even look at people on t.v. anymore without expecting them to be perfect. Like, if that girl was just one of my friends I wouldn't have thought any of those things, but because she was on t.v. she wasn't allowed to be flawed.
I just don't want to accidentally be someone shitty. Like, if I think all of this sucks, then why do I do it? I do want a tummy tuck someday. So I guess I will be a Frankenstein too.
I think I need to reflect on all of this some more. Oh, and also I need to remind myself about that Vanity Fair article on MySpace.com so I can do some complaining about that later on.

1:42 p.m. - 2006-03-08
0 comments

Same Old Thing - 2011-08-28
The ex-virgin - 2009-07-05
Wilson's Syndrome - 2009-03-12
Diet Notes - 2009-03-10
Naughty Tree - 2009-02-27

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Left - Right

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

tempewytch
metanoia
rue-madame
metonym
ingridwrites