chalice26's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Verizon Sucks Ass

I wanted to write about something interesting that happened today at the mall. Luis has been wanting to "upgrade" our cell phones ever since he signed a new contract with Verizon. He was under the impression that he had $100 towards a new phone coming and that I would have $50. So the lady at the Verizon store said, "Yes, you're eligible for an upgrade and if you sign a two-year extention on your contract, you can have one of these phones for the price listed." Okay, so we were like, "Well, if I walked in here and signed a new two-year contract off the street I'd be eligible for the price of the phone listed." She said, "Right." So I said, "Okay, it's taken us two years to become eligible for a "free upgrade" on our phones. So what do we get if we don't sign anything?" And she said, "Nothing." What this all means is that we waited two years for free nothing and "upgrade" means nothing.
When we got home, he called Verizon and they said that if we signed a two-year extension they would give him a new phone in two years and every two years after, but not me, because I'm not the primary. It's really funny too, because I can imagine us walking in in two years saying, "We're here for our "free phone" (not free upgrade, since that apparently means nothing) and they would tell us to sign another two-year contract and give us nothing.
I just don't understand how a company can say, "In two years you're eligible for a free upgrade on your phone," and then in two years you find out that you're upgrade is nothing. There's no such thing as an upgrade--apparently. It's a complete scam. I feel very violated right now. And unfortunately he already signed us up for another year, so I can't just drop them. I am very shocked and pissed off. It makes no sense to sell somebody something and then when they come in to buy it, it doesn't exist. We thought that we'd either be given a credit towards a new phone or another basic crap phone free. But no. We're just lucky enough to be allowed to purchase a phone at the "discounted price" (just like anybody off the streets) but only if we sign on for another two years! That is completely fucking crazy.
Here, let me sell you something and say you can upgrade in two years and then when two years goes by, I'll say, "Oh, the upgrade means that you're just eligible to buy what everyone else is able to buy if you and they sign a two-year contract." Why then, do I have two wait two years? Am I contractually not allowed a new phone until then? Does it mean, "Hey you can sign up for Verizon if you promise not to buy a new phone for two years?" There was nothing stopping us from buying a phone before, except for us thinking we were getting free ones or credit towards new ones in two years. This is why we have two-year old phones. Whatever.

11:21 p.m. - 2005-12-14
0 comments

Same Old Thing - 2011-08-28
The ex-virgin - 2009-07-05
Wilson's Syndrome - 2009-03-12
Diet Notes - 2009-03-10
Naughty Tree - 2009-02-27

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Left - Right

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

tempewytch
metanoia
rue-madame
metonym
ingridwrites